Pirate Loppet

Pirate Loppet

Almost 300 pirates took to the high seas for a day of … okay, okay about 300 cross-country skiing students took to Larch Hills to take part in the annual Larch Hills Pirate Loppet on Friday, Feb. 3!

Grindrod “captured” the Pirate Flag for the largest proportional student representation

With the traditional black powder cannon send off, a ski around some of the amazing trails at Larch Hills, students arrived back at the chalet to find refreshments waiting for them!

“A hearty round of Pirate Cheers and a Treasure Chest full of thanks to all Larch Hills Nordic volunteers,” comments SD83 organizer Megan Weir, the vice principal at Bastion Elementary. “You made this a smiles-filled day for 277 local elementary and middle school students from 12 SD83 schools who enjoyed this year’s “high seas” ski adventure!”

Congrats to Grindrod Elementary School, who won the highly coveted official Pirate Flag for the largest proportional student representation. 

Not only is the pirate loppet fun for participants but it also benefits schools. The funds from the registration fee to take part in the loppet as well as donations from sponsors goes towards supporting a Skis for Schools grant program. Each year the Pirate Loppet Committee awards grants to support schools to purchase cross-country ski equipment. Since 2011, $38,900 has been distributed to 16 local schools.

Weir also send a huge thanks to event sponsors including AIM Road Maintenance, Askew’s Foods, Canada Bread, Grimm’s, Hub Barton Insurance, H2O4U, Larch Hills Nordic Society, LA Signs, Shuswap Black Powder Group, Shuswap Lady Striders, Shuswap Tourism, Skookum Bike and Ski, Stella Jones, Tim Horton’s, Toliver Advertising and Design, Vella Radio, and SD83. 

“An extra thank you to our many volunteers who went above and beyond to ensure the smooth running of the event, including: Hanna Breugem, Sarah Burrill, Pat Danforth, Lorne Hunter, Chris McMahen, Megan Moore, Susan and Daniel Rothlisberger, Dave Wallensteen, George Zorn, and Larch Hills Nordic Volunteer Safety Hosts: Kerry Miller, Christina Marusiak and Hanno Ackbari.”

SD83 would like to add a thank you to the Pirate Loppet Committee of Jeremy Ayotte, Deanna Brennan, Megan “Scurvy Me Timbers” Moore, “Salty Dog” Tom Peasgood, Susan Rothlisberger, “Long John Lichen Beard” George Zorn, and Megan Weir.

Check out the Salmon Arm Observer photos here