Inaugural meeting of new board

The inaugural meeting of the newly elected trustees who will form The Board of Education of School District No. 83 (North Okanagan-Shuswap) is set for Thursday, Nov. 15 at 6 p.m. at the District Education Support Centre (DESC) in Salmon Arm.

Trustees will be sworn in by Judge Ed de Walle in a short ceremony, which the public is invited to attend. Our newly elected board will include Tennile Lachmuth (Area 1), Quentin Bruns (Area 2), Marty Gibbons (Area 3) and Amanda Krebs & Marianne VanBuskirk  (Area 4).

This will mark the end of Official Trustee Mike McKay’s tenure with the district.

“Official Trustee Mike McKay has had a great impact on the North Okanagan-Shuswap School District over the last two years and will be remembered fondly for his work here, but it is now time to transition back to a governance model with a locally elected Board,” comments Peter Jory, Superintendent of Schools/CEO.

“I want to thank everybody who ran for their interest in this critical work, and thank everyone who voted for their thoughtful participation in the democratic process. This looks to be a very capable and diverse group of new trustees who will bring a lot to the Board table, and the senior team is looking forward to working with them and giving them the support they need to be the successful Board that our School District deserves.”

“The future is very bright in School District No. 83,” he adds.

After being sworn in at the inaugural meeting, the board will hold its first regular business meeting on Tuesday, Nov. 20 at 6 p.m. at the DESC.

Leave a Reply